Throwback Tuesday: You Are Here

This photo was taken in 2012 while travelling by train (the quality of the photo is not great because the train was moving). I was intrigued by the painted sign on the building. I asked one of the crew members if they knew anything about it but they didn’t which left me even more intrigued! When I returned home and uploaded the photos from my trip to my computer I decided to Google it and see if I could get any more info about it. I honestly didn’t think the search would yield anything but thought it would be fun to try. Boy was I wrong! Sure enough – the sign has a history.

“As part of a grant from the Governor’s Office of Economic Development, the Epicenter is receiving some much needed signage. This hand-painted sign serves as a message of instigation to connect the Epicenter (Green River more broadly) and Amtrak. The tracks and platform sit just 400 feet south of the Epicenter. We’re tired of hearing the conductors on Amtrak comment that Green River is a ghost town. We want passengers to see some indication that Green River is growing and has a lot to offer.” Source

4 thoughts on “Throwback Tuesday: You Are Here

Comments are not required but always appreciated...

